skip to main content

Guidance Department

Guidance and Counseling Programs                           

205 Beaver Dam Road, Brookhaven, NY 11719
Ph:  631-730-1608 & 1607      Fax:  631-286-4025
College Board School Code: 330390

  

 

  

Announcements

 

December Guidance Events

Annual Individual Progress Review Meetings for Grades 9-11
Beginning on December 2nd and continuing through February, each student at BHS will receive an individual appointment to meet with his/her school counselor to review his/her progress, discuss goals for after graduation and select 2020-2021 courses.

College On-Site Admission Days at BHS in December for Grade 12
Monday, December 2nd – St. Joseph’s College, Patchogue, NY
Tuesday, December 3rd – LIU Post, Brookville, NY
Wednesday, December 4th – Mercy College, Dobbs Ferry, NY
Friday, December 6th – SUNY Brockport, Brockport, NY
Monday, December 9th – SUNY Farmingdale, Farmingdale, NY
Tuesday, December 10th - SUNY Old Westbury, Old Westbury, NY

BOCES Assembly for Grades 10 and 11
Tuesday, December 3rd – Mandatory assembly in the auditorium periods 8 and 9 for any student in grade 10 or 11 interested in attending BOCES 
for the 2020-2021 school year.

SAT Exam for Grades 11 and 12
Saturday, December 7th - SAT given at various locations on Long Island

Coast Guard Visit at BHS
Monday, December 9th - East Commons, periods 4-8

Marines Visit at BHS
Wednesday, December 11th - East Commons, periods 4-8

PSAT Score Release for Grade 11
Wednesday, December 11th - The CollegeBoard plans to release scores to students in grade 11 in New York who took the PSAT in October 2019.  
Visit studentscores.collegeboard.org and log in to your CollegeBoard account to view your PSAT scores.  Stop by the Guidance Office now for information to sign up to take the SAT and ACT this spring.

ACT Exam for Grades 11 and 12
Saturday, December 14th - ACT given at various locations on Long Island

2nd Quarter Progress Reports Posted to the Portal for Grades 9-12
Friday, December 20th - Quarter 2 report cards posted to the Portal by 
the Grade Reporting Office.

 


Upcoming College Visits

Colleges visit Bellport High School to meet with prospective students. Here is the list of colleges coming to BHS in October. To meet with a college, you need to sign up online in your Naviance account or by visiting the Guidance Office. In order to receive a pass to attend:

College

Date

Time

SUNY Albany

Fri November 1, 2019

10:00 AM

SUNY Fredonia

Fri November 1, 2019

11:00 AM

Binghamton University

Mon November 4, 2019

11:00 AM

Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology

Wed November 6, 2019

10:00 AM

Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, Los Angeles

Wed November 6, 2019

11:00 AM

Washington College

Thu November 7, 2019

10:00 AM

St. Thomas Aquinas College

Thu November 7, 2019

11:00 AM

Quinnipiac University

Fri November 8, 2019

10:00 AM

SUNY College at Brockport

Wed November 13, 2019

10:00 AM

Island Drafting and Technical Institute

Thu November 14, 2019

10:00 AM

Sacred Heart University

Thu November 14, 2019

11:00 AM

Berkeley College NYC Midtown Location

Thu November 21, 2019

11:00 AM

 

Guidance Staff

Director of Guidance and Counseling Programs
Jenna Restivo
Phone: 631-730-1608
jrestivo@southcountry.org

Guidance Secretaries
Marisol Capraro 631-730-1607
mcapraro@southcountry.org

Lidia Santamaria 631-730-1608
lsantamaria@southcountry.org

Counselors
Brittany Ensalata (A-Cor)
631-730-1603
bensalata@southcountry.org

Katelyn Burke (Cos - Hern)
631-730-1592
kaburke@southcountry.org

Patricia McCallum (Hero-Mon)
631-730-1775
pmccallum@southcountry.org

April Orenstein (Moo-Sav)
631-730-1602
aorenstein@southcountry.org

Jessica Negron (Saw - Z and PASS)
631-730-1660
jnegron@southcountry.org

Brittany Treutle (School Counselor TA)
631-730-3489
btreutle@southcountry.org

 


Social Workers
Katherine Henglein (A-Gom)
631-730-1605
khenglein@southcountry.org

Crista Pervelis (Gon-Nu)
631-730-1612
cpervelis@southcountry.org

Lynette Murphy (O-Z)
631-730-1614
lmurphy@southcountry.org

Ann Haddad (District-wide - Room 100)
631-730-1680
ahaddad@southcountry.org

Junior Turcios (Bilingual ENL)
631-730-3483
jturcios@southcountry.org


Psychologists
Vicki Montalvo (Grades 9 & 10)
631-730-2119
vmontalvo@southcountry.org

Brian Dalpiaz (Grades 11 & 12)
631-730-1671
bdalpiaz@southcountry.org

 


 

 

 

Friday, December 06, 2019
SCCSD Mascot